Change That Lasts

NAVIGATING THROUGH RESOLUTIONS

Joan Tandi 20141230_045247

 

When I set up this blog, I did not think for a moment that my first post would be in January 2015 and about resolutions. For starters, I set up the blog late last year and I was excited and fired to write away to the moon (or whichever place it is writers write away to). Then when I finally set it up, I was scared. Scared I would not be consistent, blogging requires self-discipline, and I was not sure I had it in me. Therefore, I relaxed and pushed blogging at the back of mind but the tag in my heart to write was still there. So I prayed about it and God reminded me when Christ died all my inadequacies were taken care of and above it all iI would not be the one in charge He would. It is not my self-discipline being tested its Christ working through me for His glory… hence; you are officially welcome to our blog (Christ and I). It is our desire that Christ will use me to affect your life in whatsoever way He has chosen.
Now back to the topic at hand. Resolutions…I have never been a resolutions kind of person…but all the same I have written down resolutions at the beginning of the last three years just because it is something that is done. This year I wanted it to be different. I was motivated to make changes that truly matter.
CONFIDENCE IN THE FLESH
Word web has a couple of definitions on the term resolutions
1. Finding a solution to a problem
2. A statement that solves a problem or explains how to solve a problem
3. A decision to do something or to behave in a certain manner
These definitions pointed out that resolution involve change. It means that the only way that one can decide to have a resolution is by reflecting on their life, noticing a problem, and providing a solution. Hence, the result is change.
John 15:4-5 Amplified version
Dwell in me, and I will dwell in you. (Live in Me, and I will live in you). Just as no branch can bear fruit of itself without abiding in (being vitally united to) the vine, neither can you bear fruit unless you abide in Me.I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever lives in Me and I in him bears much (abundant) fruit. However, apart from Me (cut off from vital union) you can do nothing.
In the early days the Bible records that human beings lived for so long. Adam and Noah lived over 900 years and it got me thinking about the enormous opportunities for change they had. I stopped right there because I realized I was believing I had the power to change myself and it could happen if I had just more time. John 15:4-5 reminds us that apart from Christ we can do nothing. Truth is we rationalize (at least I know I do) and excuse until nothing means just a few big things. Part of the things we rationalize are resolutions. New year’s resolutions are a dangerous formula that weakens our confidence in Jesus by creating trust in our own accomplishments. My previous resolutions put hope in my flesh.
Almost every year my diets fail, a good number of my habits stay the same and things I set to do do not exactly materialize majorly because you and I focus on the wrong person.
EMBRACING TRUTH
So for a change this year I have set out to make changes that truly matter. There are many truths in the Bible and many truths I have learned over the years. There are also a lot of truths I have not embraced. There is a difference between knowing God’s truths, embracing them, and living like they are true. For this year, I have picked a few of these truths and I have chosen to believe in them and allow them to change how I live. The thing about my new year’s resolution is that they are a lot of work and I know firsthand that I am going to fail. I know upfront that I absolutely cannot do it. This helps to shift my focus on Christ. They remind me am not the one at work. Over the past few days, I have opened my book and looked at them and I am excited because I cannot wait to see God work on me.
THE LIST
I have turned a few of Gods truths into action steps for this year and I hope by sharing this list you will be motivated to identify areas in your life that are in need of a few dosages of God’s truth and put that truth to work into your own life.

120567-Love
1. I will live like I am deeply loved by God this year
A friend during a Bible study recently created a chain reaction of thoughts, it is common knowledge that God loves us but do you (I) believe that God loves you (me). Has it sunk yet that the creator of the universe loves you regardless. Jeremiah 31: 3 literally makes me my heart stop (okay… maybe not literally)
Jeremiah 31:3
The Lord has appeared of old to me, saying. “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore with loving-kindness I have drawn you” NKJV
Living like am deeply loved firsthand means that I will pursue a deep and stable foundation of knowing and understanding Gods love. It means that one of my hopes is that I will experience firsthand the joy of being loved by God.
Living like am deeply loved among other things means that the knowledge that the creator of the universe (a good God, healer, provider, Emmanuel, prince of peace, lover) will get me going through the hard times. It will settle my heart when the next mile seems intolerably long.
Romans 8:38-39
Bible The Message
I’m absolutely convinced that nothing-nothing living or dead, angelic or demonic, today or tomorrow, high or low, thinkable and unthinkable-absolutely nothing can get between us and Gods love because of the way that Jesus our master has embraced us.
My songs for this truth will be; unstoppable love – Jesus culture, your love never fails-Jesus Culture, live like that-sidewalk prophets, loving me-Jonathan Mcreynolds
2. I will have facts take predominance over feelings.
Our feelings have no intellect and sometimes as real as they feel, they lie to us. Embracing this truth means bouncing every feeling off the truth of the word of God and discarding what the mind informs me(you) about any situation and person hence,
There is no one I cannot love 1st Thessalonians 3:11-12, 4:9)
I can give thanks at all times (1 Thessalonians 5:18)
Embracing this truth means that the aspect of surrender will pop up. It is a challenge, surrendering every aspect of our being to Christ, but the beauty of it all is that Christ walks with us through the whole process. It is a radical transformation.
The songs for this truth will be according to God-Beautiful Eulogy, Take Over- Anthony Evans
3. I will overcome several idols and mirrors in my life1399995893857

Idols have changed clothes in the present day. We are now slaves to money, power, and sex. We are now addicted to ourselves, people’s comments, other people, beauty, relationships etc. the problem is deep rooted in our hearts. What defines you? What is on your throne? What do you give ultimate worth? What do you chase so you do not feel alone? This resolution am looking full on to Jesus to work on me.
Mirrors…our unregenerate hearts turn just about anything into a mirror. Magazines, beautiful homes,paychecks because when we look at them we see ourselves wanting in comparison so at the end of the day we usually want to change just about everything about our self. Mostly Not so that you admire it but so that other people see it and you bask in the glory that they provide concerning your image.
Taking this on means looking to the Spirit for guidance. It means real, intimate communion with the Spirit and constant communication. It also means surrender.
Galatians 5:1
Bible the message
Christ has set us free to live a free life. So take your stand! Never again let anyone put a harness of slavery on you
NKJV
Stand fast therefore in the liberty by which Christ has made us free, and do not be entangled again with a yoke of bondage.

After we become discouraged by our lists of New year resolutions, let us throw them out and make one good resolution that will last a lifetime. God loves you.

Photos: Courtesy

15 thoughts on “NAVIGATING THROUGH RESOLUTIONS

  1. I always knew you had it in you. Awesome work bestie 🙂 Looking forward to seeing you guys (Christ and you) change the world through this blog.

Leave a Reply

